Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Vancouver 2010 Olympic Men's Hockey Tournament Format

Vancouver 2010 has introduced some changes to their seeding format when it comes to the elimination games. In addition to issuing 3 points for a win, 2 for an overtime / shootout win, 1 point for an overtime / shootout loss, and 0 points for a regulation loss, they are throwing in a Major League Baseball style Wild Card spot so to speak.

There are three divisions with four teams, and each team will play their division rivals in a round robin. Once those three games are complete, the three division leaders and the team with the fourth best record will automatically advance to the Quarter Finals. The other teams (seeds 5-12) will then compete is a brief Qualification Round. Four of those eight teams will advance to the Quarterfinals, joining the 4 teams who advanced from the Round Robin stage.

PuckWatch predictions would have Canada, Russia, and two of Sweden, Finland, and USA advancing automatically to the Quarterfinals.

For more information, check out the CTV Olympics website.

1 comment:

  1. Wondering why they keep changing the rules on these things!!!!

    THis one isn't bad though